Share money

Netflix ALREADY charges some viewers to share their accounts – here’s how much you might have to pay

NETFLIX has given users a taste of how much they can expect to be charged once they crack down on password sharing.

The struggling streaming company began demanding extra money in some countries as part of a test in March.

2

Netflix has long turned a blind eye to password sharing – until nowCredit: Getty Images

After losing 200,000 followers, the Bridgerton hitmaker is targeting accounts shared with people outside his household.

With around 100 million accounts using this tactic, it could be a juicy extra income for the company.

But it comes at a terrible time for consumers already squeezed by the rising cost of living.

Judging from the ongoing trial in Chile, Costa Rica and Peru, users could be looking at paying between £1.53-£2.30 / an additional $2-$3 for two additional profiles.

The price for additional members from Chile is 2,380 CLP (£2.26/$2.98), while those from Costa Rica will be charged $2.99 ​​(£2.27) and 7.9 PEN (1. £61 / $2.12) in Peru.

However, countries like the UK and the US might be looking at much higher fees, as subscriptions already cost more in those countries.

For example, the premium package costs 10,700 CLP in Chile (£10.02 / $12.79).

It’s a lot cheaper than in the UK and US, where it’ll set you back £15.99 and $19.99 respectively.

With that in mind, we can expect any fees for additional profiles outside of the household to cost significantly more when the crackdown rolls out closer to home.

An insider recently told The Sun he believed the fee would be £5.49 in the UK and $7.99 in the US.

It’s still unclear how Netflix intends to catch users and enforce the rules.

Netflix can detect when an account is not being used in the same household by looking at the IP address.

Harry and Meghan should be stripped of their titles by Queen, says Donald Trump
Russia hit by TWO huge explosions in suspected Ukrainian missile strike

Subscriptions detected for account sharing receive a prompt telling them to pay more for two additional profiles.

The site reportedly uses multi-factor authentication, where a code is sent to the bill payer’s phone each time, making it more difficult for strangers to use.

100million accounts thought they were breaking account sharing rules

2

100million accounts thought they were breaking account sharing rulesCredit: SOPA Images/LightRocket via Gett
  • Read all the latest news on phones and gadgets
  • Keep up to date with Apple Stories
  • Get the latest news on Facebook, WhatsApp and Instagram

Best tips and hacks for phones and gadgets

Looking for tips and tricks for your phone? Want to find these secret features in social media apps? We have what you need…


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for the Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk